no more bellyaching

Forget complaining. Find joy in every moment.

NMB–The Scale

4 Comments

Last week, you may have read about my effort to eliminate grains. Evidently, I have commitment issues when it comes to buzzword labels such as vegan and gluten-free. So, I have not gone gluten-free, but I have stopped eating bread, pasta, crackers, and doughnuts. But I am not reading labels to make sure everything I eat is gluten-free.

I Can’t Eat Just One

I am an addict, and bread is my drug of choice. For instance, at Red Lobster, I cannot eat just one Cheddar Bay biscuit. If I don’t eat any, I will be fine. BUT if I eat one? I am probably going to eat the entire bowl. I am missing a very important chromosome that says, “One is enough.” That chromosome may also hold other important characteristics that I am missing, but we’ll talk about those another time.

Not Even One?

For the past few weeks, I haven’t eaten any bread, pasta, crackers, cookies, doughnuts. I took my Florax DS, drank a lot of water, herbal tea, and smoothies. Although I keep saying this isn’t about weight loss, in the interest of full disclosure, I did anticipate that I was going to lose weight. So imagine my surprise when I got on the scale this morning to find that I have not Lost. One. Pound.

My heart sank a little bit.

Not One, but Two

Conveniently, there were two chocolate éclairs on my counter. I have no idea where they came from, but two weeks ago, I would have said, “Screw this,” and devoured them, but there was this crazy voice in my head that said, “It’s not about losing weight; it’s about being healthy. Don’t you feel better?” Not sure where this logical voice came from, but I actually listened to her and didn’t eat the éclairs.

One, Two, Three…

One of my goals for 2013 was to accept my body. Gulp. After four decades of trying to change it, that’s a tough one. Another goal was not to say unkind things about anyone, and that includes myself. So regardless of what the scale says, I will keep eating healthy, taking Florax DS, and using Hebron USA’s line of all natural digestive and respiratory supplements.

Do you like éclairs? Do you want these?

4 thoughts on “NMB–The Scale

  1. I love your goal of self-acceptence :). Changing your diet can be really difficult and you always have to have a little balance.

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

    • Thank you so much 🙂 It is a long journey, but every little bit we can love and accept ourselves and others is a big step. I recently read a book Women Food and God by Geneen Roth that really opened my eyes to my relationship with food and why it is the way it is.

  2. Pingback: It’s All Good « no more bellyaching

  3. Pingback: URL

Leave a comment